Thanks for the lessons in love

Rainbow I called a friend on Friday morning. She hadn’t yet heard the news that the Supreme Court ruled for marriage equality. Now she and her partner – who had already been married in our church – can get legally married in Ohio as well.

She let the news soak in for a few seconds. Finally, she expressed her happiness. And gratitude.

“Thank you for being an ally,” she said. “It means a lot.”

Several other gay friends said the same thing to me over the weekend. How they appreciated their straight friends supporting them and fighting with them to get to this point.

I wasn’t exactly sure how to respond other than, “Of course. You’re welcome. You’re worth it.”

That response seemed so … inadequate. Too Hallmark-ish. But I wasn’t sure what else to say exactly.

It finally came to me as I was driving to church this morning. What I needed to say was: Thank you.

Thank you.

First, thank you for inviting me to be your friend. Thank you for the love you’ve given me.

Thank you for showing me what it means to love someone else when there’s a cost involved. Thank you for that example.

Thank you for reminding me that it’s important to be myself and to celebrate who I am. Even when I’m not exactly sure who I am. Especially when some others would like me to be something that I’m not.

Thank you for teaching me what it means to live courageously and to love courageously. And to see God at work in all of it.

Thank you for showing me how to keep trying, even when justice seems so absent and distant. Especially when justice is absent and distant.

Thank you for giving me an example of what it means to be graceful in the face of hatred and discrimination. I will never forget that.

And thank you for being a visible reminder that love wins. Always does. Sometimes, it just takes a little time.

Thank you.

Author: joekay617

Feel free to add your thoughts and comments. Or you can reach me privately at joekay617@aol.com. Peace!

One thought on “Thanks for the lessons in love”

Leave a Reply

